Govt approves new Naftogaz's supervisory board

Govt approves new Naftogaz's supervisory board

The Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine has approved a new supervisory board of national joint-stock company Naftogaz Ukrainy, which includes foreigners Claire Spotisad (UK), Bruno Liska (France), Amos Hochstein (the United States) and Steve Haisen (Canada).

The government made the decision at a meeting on Wednesday.

In addition, Ukrainians Oleksandr Hrytsenko (Board Chairman of Ukreximbank), Serhiy Popik (an advisor to the prime minister) joined the board. Volodymyr Demchyshyn remained a member of the supervisory board.

Ukrainian Prime Minister Volodymyr Groysman said that the supervisory board was created in tight cooperation with international partners.

"The new supervisory board will have a task of increasing efficiency of the company and conducting unbundling. It would have a task of providing for sharp increase in gas production in the country and help to de-monopolize the market and create the gas market in Ukraine," Groysman said.